Eight ‘Dota 2’ Teams Will Compete For $1 Million This Weekend At The DreamLeague Major

Credit: DreamLeague / Benjamin Cotton

The DreamLeague Major takes place this weekend.

The second Dota 2 Major of the year takes place this weekend, with eight of the best teams in the world competing for a share of $1 million at DreamLeague, which is taking place at DreamHack Winter in Jönköping, Sweden.

The DreamLeague Major took a different route to most competitions, forcing all eight teams to qualify for the event and handing out no direct invitations. One team from North America, South America, China and South East Asia could qualify for the event, while the final four places would be made up of European and CIS teams who performed best in the online league.

Fnatic made it through the SEA qualifier, Newbee came through the China qualifier, Evil Geniuses won the North American qualifier and Infamous came out on top in the South American qualifier. All four teams will now play at DreamHack this weekend.

In the EU and CIS league it was Team Secret who topped the competition with a 11-3 win loss record, only dropping games to TI7 champions Team Liquid, ESL One Hamburg champions Virtus Pro and Vega Squadron. Next up was NaVi and Liquid with 10-4 records and finally Virtus Pro just qualified for their second Major with a 8-6 record, beating out OG by just one game.

These eight teams will now compete in a double elimination bracket over the next three days to decide the winner of ROG DreamLeague Season 8. The winning team will walk away with $500,000 and crucially 750 Dota Pro Circuit Points, which will be used to decide who qualifies for The International 8 next year.

The first round of the bracket sees NaVi take on Virtus Pro, Team Liquid take on Fnatic, Team Secret take on Evil Geniuses and finally Newbee will take on Infamous. The first game kicks off at 10:30 CET on December 1st and can be watched on the DreamLeague Twitch Channel.

Powered by WPeMatico